Team WRT

Seasons 2021-2023
Team Team WRT
Brand Oreca 07
Category LMP2 (Le Mans Prototype 2)

The Oreca 07 is a Le Mans Prototype, built by French manufacturer Oreca, to meet the 2017 FIA and ACO LMP2 regulations. It made its official race introduction in the opening round of the 2017 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, the 24 Hours of Daytona.

In 2021 the Belgian Team WRT made an impressive LMP2 debut, taking victory at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, and was crowned drivers’ and teams’ champions in both the FIA World Endurance Championship, and in the European Le Mans Series.
The team took their second FIA WEC championship title in 2023 (runner-up in 2022) at Bahrain, which saw the presence of the LMP2 category on the world stage come to an end.
Team WRT claimed three out of four possible LMP2 championship titles across FIA World Endurance Championship and the European Le Mans Series, they won over half of the LMP2 races they entered (10 out of 19).

WRT’s driver Rui Andrade became the first African driver to win a FIA WEC championship crown. Finally Team WRT won its first LMP2 race (in Barcelona 2021) and its last one (in Bahrain 2023) with Robert Kubica and Louis Delétraz in the car.